State of Michoacán

Where to Go & What to Do

Michoacán is a state characterized by its ancestral traditions and festivities.

Michoacán, better known as the soul of Mexico for all its richness in different areas, in Michoacán you can taste the different flavors of its varied cuisine, you can also see the beautiful landscapes, it is a state with all kinds of climates.

In Michoacán, you will be able to reconnect with your loved ones with the ancestral celebration of the Day of the Dead, you will also see how the monarch butterflies begin to arrive at their sanctuaries.

Whether it is colonial cities, ancestral festivities, natural landscapes or beaches, Michoacán has it all.

Escudo Estado de Michoacan 2

Major Cities in Michoacán



Capital de Michoacán y principal destino turístico. Llamada Valladolid durante el virreinato colonial

Cuna de hombres ilustres destacados en la historia de México, fue más tarde escenario del surgimiento de la independencia. Su centro histórico está declarado Patrimonio de la Humanidad.

Other important destinations in Michoacán

Janitzio Michoacan


Uruapan Michoacan


Zamora Michoacan


Sahuayo Michoacan


Archeological Sites in Michoacán

Zona Arqueologica Ihuatzio Michoacan


Tzintzuntzan, Michoacán

Zona Arqueologica La Nopalera Huandacareo Michoacan

La Nopalera

Huandacareo, Michoacán

Zona Arqueologica San Felipe Los Alzati Michoacan

San Felipe Los Alzati

Zitácuaro, Michoacán

Zona Arqueologica Tingambato Michoacan


Tingambato, Michoacán

Zona Arqueologica Tres Cerritos Michoacan

Tres Cerritos

Cuitzeo, Michoacán

Zona Arqueologica Tzintzuntzan Michoacan


Tzintzuntzan, Michoacán

Where is the State of Michoacán located?

Official Tourism Site

Michoacán is a state located in the Mexican lowlands on the Pacific coast of Mexico. Its cultural and social richness lies in the Purepecha culture with more than half a century of history.

The gastronomy of this state was the base paradigm for the declaration of Mexican Gastronomy as Intangible Heritage of Humanity (UNESCO).

Today its tourist offer is divided into 7 regions, including 9 Magical Towns, 6 World Heritage Sites and more than 200 km of coastline.